About SAYTC

BACKPACKING SOUTH AFRICA (BSA) was formed in 1998 as a trust organisation for the purpose of cooperatively marketing South Africa as the best international backpacking and adventure destination.

In 2007, BSA recognised the need to incorporate address other aspects of youth tourism. BSA expanded and the South African Youth Travel Confederation (SAYTC) was formed. SAYTC is a non-profit, membership-driven organization with the following objectives:

  • to market South Africa globally as a preferred youth tourism destination.  
  • to establish a professional youth tourism industry based upon accreditation and guidelines.

SAYTC represents operators like you and addresses the concerns and interests of all operators throughout South Africa. Members are represented  by the following sectors:

  • Backpacking South Africa
  • Education South Africa
  • Tours & transport South Africa
  • Volunteering South Africa

Membership is not limited to South Africa, but includes members from neighbouring Southern African countries: Lesotho, Namibia and Zambia.

Most youth tourism service operators in the region are independent, but recognise the need for a national body, that is looking after the needs of visitors to South Africa. All members have undertaken to abide by basic standards and work towards the common good of both the traveller and industry.

SAYTC EXCO Members

  • Gavin Eyre
    SAYTC Chairman and WC chair
    gavin@ihcapetown.com

  • Zile de Kock
    Secretary
    zile@whalewatchsa.com

  • Steve Thomas
    Trustee
    steve@daytrippers.co.za

  • Deborah Smook
    National Co-ordinator
    deborah@saytc.co.za

Sector chairs

  • Noelline Claassen van Loggenberg
    BSA chair
    noelcvl@hotmail.com

  • Kim Whittaker
    BSA vice chair
    kim@33southbackpackers.com

  • Shaun Fitzhenry
    EduSA chair
    shaun@baylanguage.com

  • Johannes Kraus
    EduSA vice chair
    johannes@kurus-english.com

  • Craig Kensley
    TATSA chair
    Craig@anixconsulting.com

  • Greg Bows
    VolSA chair
    greg@africanimpact.com

  • Mike Denison
    VolSA vice chair
    mike@ahj.co.za

Provincial chairs

  • Marius Marnewecke
    GR Chair
    marius@tubenaxe.co.za

  • Matthew Rowe
    Garden Route vice-chair
    africanarrayplett@gmail.com

  • Sean Price
    EC chair
    sean@ahj.co.za

  • Maria
    Gauteng Chair
    lebo@sowetobackpackers.com

  • Patrick Moroney
    KZN Chair
    patrick@tekwenibackpackers.co.za